Maria Zakharova: "We are pleased with relatively peaceful at the Azerbaijan-Armenia LoC"

  • 16:53 09 August 2019

Maria Zakharova: "We are pleased with relatively peaceful at the Azerbaijan-Armenia LoC"

"We are pleased to note that at the moment it is relatively peaceful at the contact line between Azerbaijan and Armenia," Russian Foreign Ministry's official spokeswoman Maria Zakharova said at a briefing. 

"However, we are concerned that the parties are using various excuses to keep bringing accusations against each other," She emphasized.

M. Zakharova noted that such rhetoric hinder the creation of favorable conditions for the negotiation process and the search for compromises for the settlement of the conflict: “As co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group, and taking into account Moscow's close relations with Baku and Yerevan, we are ready to assist in the development of a comprehensive peace process related to the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.”

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.
The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh. 

Faig Mahmudov