US blacklists two Armenian entities

  • 15:25 14 August 2019

US blacklists two Armenian entities

The US Department of Commerce has blacklisted private entities representing 10 foreign countries, including Armenia, ONA reports citing the official statement released by US DEPARTMENT  OF COMMERCE.

“Armenia  of  items  subject  to the  EAR  and controlled  on the Commerce Control  List  (CCL) for national  security  reasons; to add two Armenian  entities, Markel  Closed Joint  Stock Company  (Markel CJSC) and Yerevan  Telecommunications  Research  Institute (YETRI) Closed Joint  Stock Company(CJSC), because YETRI CJSC has obtained  CCL items that  were reexported  without  the  required  BIS licenses, and the person who  is  both Executive Director  of  YETRI CJSC and President  of Markel  CJSC has been  engaged  in  a business relationship  with  a sanctioned  Iranian  organization,” the statement reads.

In general, the Department has imposed sanctions on 17 entities which were found to be “acting contrary to the national security or foreign policy interests from 10 countries in terms of UK, Russia, Malaysia, Nederland, Hong- Kong, United Arab Emirates, Georgia, Armenia, Belgium."

Zumrud Pashkin